You can type here any text you want

Short block buildup?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

dank GN

BlackArts Automotive (661)993-8277
I have picked up a NA block and a uncut turbo crank and two dot stock rods. I am looking for a low 11 high 10 sec bottom end. What parts should I go with? What's it going to cost me appox. This is my first build up any tips will help me. What should I have the machine shop do to make this thing live with my driving abuse? I plan on doing some porting and polishing on the heads maybe slap them on my buddys flow bench? Like I said before any tips will help thanks agian

Accurate machine work and cleanliness with nothing more needed than the stock parts. No caps or any of that needed. Id have the block plate honed.

a few pics:smile: what about a mid to low ten sec short block

IMG_0420.jpg

IMG_0426.jpg

IMG_0427.jpg

IMG_0428.jpg

Bison's advice is sound as long as the motor is not detonated severly under high boost. If that happens with a stock bottom end, then you will be walking back down the track to pick up the pieces. two center steel caps saved my motor. Cracked stock crank in two places and the motor stayed together and still ran a 7.1 under high boost. My buddies motor (stock bottom end) detonated the motor under 25 lbs boost and it not only detroyed the block but also took out the trans bellhousing. I now have a 4340 crank and most of the right stuff to go real fast. tune, tune tune. To install 2 center caps:

1. new caps $350
2. Align bore the block $200

Mitch

a few pics:smile: what about a mid to low ten sec short block

I've talked to several of the gurus on these engines as of late concerning a mid to low 10 second short block. The average price I've been quoted is around $6500 for the short block. That's gonna put you at 10-12k by the time you do the rest of the motor. NOT counting supporting mods.

HTH