You can type here any text you want

Valve stem seals and clearance

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Phoenix-MN

Newbie here :rolleyes: I've been lurking for a long time reading this forum for all of it's great info. I'm building a resto-mod with a 3.8 V6 NA (Turbo's little brother) I finally finished building it and fire it up last weekend with mixed results. I thought I had done all my homework and had the valve train all worked out. Lunatti Cam, Harland Sharp roller rockers on cast iron heads.

No issues with valve clearance but on startup and the first few minutes of running I had valve/lifter noise on cyln #3. After a few more minutes noise almost went away and was barely noticable. At that point I thought the valves just need adjusting. After letting it cool down I took off the valve cover and checked the adjustment and everything was ok. Then I found a small soft piece of blue plastic laying in the head. Scatched my head for a while trying to think what it was and finally determined that it was part of the valve stem seal. I used a miiror and light and can see that it is from the #3 intake stem. So I failed my homework assignment! The combination of the higher lift cam and 1.65 rockers pushed the spring retainer down on the end of the seal and smashed it good.

So here's my questions:
Since this only happened on one valve could the guide or seal been installed wrong? Could anything else been damaged? I assume I will need to take the head off to replace the seal so what else can I check while I'm in there. Is this a common problem? (I searched for this but didn't find anything)

Here's my V6 installed in the car.
phoenixhobbies-dot-com/html/prorgress_2008.html]Prorgress 2008

Thanks
Paul