You can type here any text you want

CAT crank and incorrect keyway positioning?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

psn

I have an unexpected problem with the crank that I noticed when trying to degree the cam. I kept getting very strange ICL numbers and at first it was purely because I did not know how to set up the timing chain and gears (TA Perf. 9 key timing set).

But when I got the instructions for the timing set I noticed that when I bring #1 cylinder to TDC the timing marks do not line up and crank key is not pointing to 2:00 o'clock. At TDC it is at 1:00 o'clock. In both of the pictures #1 is at TDC, and you can see how off it is.

Has anyone experienced anything like this? I wish it would be just a user error, since this is my first time building a turbo Buick engine.

Short block includes 109 block, CAT stock stroke crank, TA Perf. balancer, K1 rods, JE pistons. Comp 214/210 roller.

8_1518531.jpg
9_171204.jpg

did you verify true tdc with a piston stop and rotation of crank clockwise and then counterclockwise , marking the points and then find center of those points

did you verify true tdc with a piston stop and rotation of crank clockwise and then counterclockwise , marking the points and then find center of those points

About 105 times. When timing marks line up, piston is visibly below TDC

Like I told you, the crank gear is NOT in the correct slot, which is why the key is at 1:00 o'clock, not 2:00 where it should be to have the cam straight up at TDC.:(

I know the marks on the Rollmaster timing set can be confusing, but the crank key needs to be on one dot at 2:00, the other dot will line up with the dot on the cam gear.

Now if you set it this way and number piston is NOT at TDC, then you could have the first ever crank keyway issue.