You can type here any text you want

is it time for a aftermarket cam

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

mayo81

i am new to the turbo buick world so if i ask a dumb question i am sorry
i just bought my first 87 grand national in late march . the guy i bought it from didnt know what was in it or done to it beside a few things he could remember .
just recently i i noticed a drop in oil pressure , and sure enough the mains were almost gone . so after tearing down my car i now have a list of what parts i have and can begin to ask questions

the turbo acording to my bore dial is at least a 60mm
it has the front mounted intercooler
keen bell upper intake ?
1.6 roller rockers
gn1 champion cylinder heads ported and pollished
fel pro head gaskets?
stock cam shaft ?
lightened crank
h beam rods
je pistons
and one of the baddest main girddels i have ever seen !!
and studs on everything

my questions are
is it time to change cam shafts ? and if so what grind?

what head gasket should i go back with ?was running about 15 pounds of boost but would like to go with more .
any other info would be greatly apreciated

sorry i dont type or spell good.

With all those mods I doubt the cam is stock. Find out what cam you have. If you change, go roller.

well the cam is a cmc which is the same brand cam that came out of my stock 88 chevy pick up so i asumed it was stock
and i wanted to go roller but dont know what grind would work best im thinking of having the heads flowed but does the same rules apply to a turbo motor? thanks for your help

Since you're new I'm gonna say...WHOA BIG FELLA! Not trying to insult or aggrivate you. Get hold of one of the builders on the board and talk to them. Before you go any further there's a lot to the Buick that can screw you up so do some reading and make sure to get a good machine shop. If you don't get the right one it'll be a nasty mess.