You can type here any text you want

newbie needs answers!

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

mtnbuick

I have a 1986 t-type and im wanting to turn it into a 10 sec street car, I am a decent mechanic, but turbo cars are new to me. I think I will be doing this in stages because of the cost, any suggestions on where I should start and what am I looking at spending to get the car in the low 10's?

To get some help others will need to know the status of the car as it sits....Is this a stock T-Type?? You will have to list all the mods and make sure before modding that the car is healthy and ready to start being upgraded...You will need to have deep pockets and some patience.....Any scan tool to verify how things are going now??? Give as much info as possible and others will start leading you in the right direction....

I have a 1986 t-type and im wanting to turn it into a 10 sec street car, I am a decent mechanic, but turbo cars are new to me. I think I will be doing this in stages because of the cost, any suggestions on where I should start and what am I looking at spending to get the car in the low 10's?

Find a reliable person or vendor who has built a few GN's to the level you plan to seek and follow their guide.

It is all about COMBINATION, not just throwing a bunch of parts at the car.

There are only a relatively few people here who actually have cars which can run consistently and reliably in the low 10's.

Do not be fooled by the description of "capable", not proven, builds! :)

I can tell you if you do this in stages, it is very difficult, as many of the required low 10 sec. parts are not happy on the street, as the combination will then suck and performance will suffer.