You can type here any text you want

stalls at high boost

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

mikeA

Hi im new to turbo cars but not this site. I am buying my first t-type regal for a great deal. The car needs work and i wanted to know if anyone here can help. Here it goes.... I drove the car on the high way yesterday and it would fall on its face unless i feathered the gas and kept the boost below 15 pounds. Once i got the car above 15 pounds it would loose ignition. I am tryin to guess at the prob but i am asking the pro's. (YOU) thank you in advance. :)

First, if nothing has been done to the car then you should not run much more than 14 pounds on good 93 gas. If you mean it shuts off electrically, then you should be looking at the pos battery cable coming in contact with the header under torque. If you mean falling on its face over 15 pounds, then try giving the MAF a rap with a screwdriver while it is idling. If it stumbles, then, the MAF is on its way out. You really need at least a scanmaster to get some readings.

It could be suffering ignition module failure. That's one of the symptoms, cutting out badly once up into boost. Varies as to how much boost it takes to cause the issue.

boost issue

K sorry as far as i know the car is mostly stock... The guy that i am buying it from said the turbo is bigger but he knows nothing about cars let alone turbo cars.... When i am on the high way i watch the factory gage go to the red and when it does that thats when it dies(falls on its face) looses power what ever you want to say. There is an additional turbo gage in the center council. that gage goes all the way up to 23. if that helps. Thank you very much for all your help.

maf