You can type here any text you want

water damage

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Instro84

USAF retired
came home from xmas vacation with about 2 inches of standing water and water still pouring from ceiling from a broken pipe. anyone got any advice or experience with water damage claims i'm new to this. already had plumber come out and identify/repair broken pipe now restoration people are in the process of removing everything that got wet including carpet drywall and tile in kitchen. i been snapping pics of everything and state farm has been pretty good so far, any advice would be appreciated.

As long as your power wasnt turned off and furnace was working State farm should take care of it. Here is where it gets goofy.Do you have flood insurance? Sounds stupid but My sump pump took a crap when I was out of town.When I got home I had 2 inches of clean rain water in my basement.I have flood insurance but I didnt have contents coverage:mad: They never even told me that it was available for 100 a year .This was with Farmers. I now have State Farm Check and make sure they have contents coverage if not they will give you 2500 which is the cap for water damage.

Just make sure that you mention that you had someone coming by to check on the place every other day too. Some ins co.'s will not honor a water damage claim if you are away for periods of time and there is no one checking on the house, and a pipe should burst.

Wow knock on wood i left for work one morning and 2 hrs later wife calls water is dripping from ceiling and a peice of drywall fell. I came immediately home lucky for me. Good luck

What I do for a living, own a Fire/Flood emerg biz.