You can type here any text you want

More on 3.8 oil/timing covers...

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Freddie's Buick

Hell No! I'm not a junior
IMO, Here is the best suggestion I've read about the oil pump on these cars:
....They do have engineers that specialize in such things....Robert Carruth who was/is one such guy stated that side clearance was more important. I am not an engine engineer and don't know, but, I also know that there is a lot of folk lore passed around on such things that cannot be substantiated so I have to wonder. :) Blue Printing Oil Pump
Maybe Earl will tell us one day if he runs some tests.

The EB method of mods does'nt seem quite significant anymore once you understand whats written in the Steve Wood Vortex Buick link, (www.vortexbuicks-etc.com/Oilpump.htm). One is either in the end clearance camp, or the side clearance camp. But the only one that's easily do-able to the DIY'er is EB's mod.

I own a KB HV pump kit and it came with some gear pocket shims to hold the gears in place while measuring end clearance. It hit me that if someone was to manufactor a type of shim to fit all around the gear pocket with differant clearances that would cover that mod as well.

I was just thinking out loud....anyone wanna weigh in on this idea??:biggrin:

I remember the KB mods and how to do them myself Freddie. This was long before the re-do of the timing covers. It was recomended that you should run an HV kit and the mods back then, but the cars weren't being used quite as hard back then because they were new. I did them on my car and never had a pressure issue except when the cooler blew a line. Not a fun thing to happen btw.