Mega Squirt PNP release date announced

Discussion in 'Performance ECM Upgrades' started by troyk, Aug 13, 2017.

  1. troyk

    troyk
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    7
    Offline
    I know Daniel Jost's PnP project was based on a MS3Pro module. This board looked liked it wasn't too bad to get to fit inside the stock GN case, but you'd have to ask him. He has early pics on his thread of the motherboard he made to accept it.
    https://www.diyautotune.com/product/ms3-pro-module/
     
  2. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    And - I've got the details on what we brought out of the connector on the back of the ECU, which is going to have 26 pins.

    First, we've got all the extra spark outputs for a coil on plug conversion.

    The boost control output is brought out to make it easier to wire up other types of solenoids.

    We also brought out two outputs for a bank fired second stage of injectors. Whether you're drilling the manifold for twelve injectors or just have some extra injectors in the charge pipe, we can control them. These can also be used as general purpose on/off or PWM outputs for things like nitrous, fans, water injection, etc.

    And we have three more general purpose outputs for similar uses.

    For inputs, we have two inputs that can take a switched signal (including one flex fuel sensors) or frequency based signals, and two inputs that can handle analog signals. Plus, we've brought a direct knock sensor input out here. This lets you bypass the GM ESC module, and set different sensitivity levels based on RPM and what cylinder is firing. There's also a ground and a 5 volt supply wire for your sensors included on this connector.

    If that's not enough I/O, we've brought out the CAN bus connection as well. You can use this for a MicroSquirt running IO Box firmware, our eight channel EGT module, a controller for a 4L80E transmission, a Racepak or Race Technologies dash - or all of the above.

    And last - we just knew we'd have some customers ask if it will run other GM V6s, like 2.8 Fieros and F bodies. And the answer is that it does fit a few of these applications. (Sorry, SyTy guys and Turbo T/As - your wiring is too different. We checked.) And we expected that those guys' next question is, "Will it run sequential injection on my V6?" So, to make that easier, we brought out four of the main injector outputs and the cam signal.
     
  3. Instro84

    Instro84
    Expand Collapse
    USAF retired

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    108
    Offline
    Matt, whats so different that it wont work with the TTA?
     
  4. turbo89

    turbo89
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    324
    Offline
    Nothin
     
  5. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    We took a second look at the Turbo T/A wiring, and it turned out the differences were smaller than we thought initially. It's not exactly the same, but close enough that we could create a special order option if there's interest. We'd just need to line up a test car once the main version is released, and work with the owner to confirm the changes are all that these cars need.
     
  6. Turbo6inKY

    Turbo6inKY
    Expand Collapse
    Short Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    78
    Offline
    Thanks matt!

    So here's a few questions:
    If we opt for speed density instead of MAF base fuel control, can the MAF input in the main harness be reassigned to something else, effectively creating another general purpose sensor input?
    How do the injector drivers work? Does it auto-detect injector impedance automagically, or is there some work we need to do?
    Can a second MAP sensor be wired in for redundancy (not just referencing ambient pressure)? This one might sound weird, but we have problems blowing vacuum lines off.
     
  7. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    The board is set up so that you'd use an internal jumper to select the MAF or its internal MAP sensor. If you do end up needing more analog inputs, you can add a MicroSquirt running IO Box firmware over the CAN bus and bring in seven extra analog signals.

    Correct, it uses current sensing to determine if the injectors are high or low impedance, and applies current limit automatically. You can adjust the dead time and non-linear pulse widths to get the most out of the different injectors.

    There are a couple things you can do here, although currently using two MAP sensors is not one of them.

    One, you can use a screw-in pressure sensor for MAP. We tried using the MS3Pro with a 10 bar oil pressure sensor on a Toyota 2JZ as a MAP sensor as a joke - it worked so well we left it on the car!

    Two, you can crunch the numbers from your data logs and see what MAP reading you get as a function of RPM and throttle position, using MegaLogViewer's scatter plot function. There is a failsafe setting that can detect a MAP sensor by either an output voltage out of range or a reading that's too steady (in other words, the hose is blown off). It then switches to a synthetic MAP reading using a table of expected MAP reading as a function of TPS and RPM.
     
  8. Turbo6inKY

    Turbo6inKY
    Expand Collapse
    Short Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    78
    Offline
    This makes my pants tight. Awesome.
     
  9. 1NASTYGN

    1NASTYGN
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    Offline
    Will this connect to my 4l80e like my FASTXFI does? I currently have the TCU ITCU using CAN connector to FASTXFI.
     
  10. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    We have our own box that connects via CAN and controls a 4L80E. Right now we don't have a good way to communicate with FAST's TCU over CAN, although I believe FAST's box can work on its own without connecting to an ECU also.
     
  11. 1NASTYGN

    1NASTYGN
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    Offline
    How much is the box to control my trans? Can I keep all my FP, Oil and Flex fuel sensors as is and just rewire to MS3?
     
  12. ITSAV6

    ITSAV6
    Expand Collapse
    It's my Granny's car!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    95
    Offline
  13. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    I see ITSAV6 already got the first question. The MS3 should support the other sensors and add ons no problem.
     
  14. ITSAV6

    ITSAV6
    Expand Collapse
    It's my Granny's car!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    95
    Offline
    Plug and Play option for MS2? Even if it's diy....
     
  15. Matt Cramer

    Matt Cramer
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Offline
    We have a breakout adapter board for connecting other ECUs like the MS2 to these cars.
     
  16. ITSAV6

    ITSAV6
    Expand Collapse
    It's my Granny's car!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    95
    Offline

Share This Page